Spirit of a Slave

I hear a rooster singing its morning chime
Stretching my arms from a pass slumber
Another day of waking to a caged idea
Not looking forward to this croft
But I must survive
Allowing my seedlings to prosper

Torturing my ligaments bear
To improve a stranger’s future
Against this dirty acreage
With trees swaying with a wind
Looking into the eyes of a fellow captive
Seeing the lost dreariness

I cry
But my tears will not escape my eyes
I will not share my hurt
As I hear a thunderest voice
Screaming directions of malicious phrases
Making my skin vomit fear

Just one more day of this hell on earth
But this is my life bearing tattered clothing
And dried up blood from forced bruises
They know my heritage is strong
Fore I am lasting this personal evil

2am I woke up
This is just a dream
But it felt so authentic
How many lives have I lived
My ancestors are singing
Compelling me to taste the aguish

Creating lively imagery
Of an ignored history
Imprinting my memories with displayed hatred
Stabbing my mortality
With the memoirs of a covered pass
Educating me of my lineage

© 2011

4 Comments

Filed under Dreams, Honesty, Pain, Poetry, Powerful, Uplifting

4 responses to “Spirit of a Slave

  1. The interplay and connection between the italicized and non-italicized stanzas are evocation, a seamless flow of past, present, dream, and reality.

    Personally, my connection to the ancestors feels just like this and when they communicate with me, there are no barriers nor a way to separate the past from the present or from the dream which communicates the voices of the ancestors to me in this present, unlike what a Eurocentric discourse might suggest.

    Well-written and a solid tribute,
    ~MsQ

  2. Its beautiful Mr. Blaque.
    I like it.

  3. A very poignant poem. It speaks volumes about the atrocities man commits and how they linger, through generations. Heartbreaking and strongly written.

  4. ~L

    Wow…. This is beautiful…
    “I cry
    But my tears will not escape my eyes
    I will not share my hurt
    As I hear a thunderest voice
    Screaming directions of malicious phrases
    Making my skin vomit fear”

    What emotion… I felt it. And then to know it was a dream…. Intense…. Really… My favorite read of the week… Maybe ever…. I like it that much! Reading again now… 🙂

Tell me what you think.

